

MAGGIE L. WALKER GOVERNOR'S SCHOOL

2021 REGIONAL AND EXECUTIVE SCHOOL BOARD MEMBERS



CHARLES CITY COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD: Mr. Royce Paige

Mr. Paige was selected to serve the Regional School Board in January 2020 representing Charles City County Public Schools.





CHESTERFIELD COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD: Ms. Debbie Bailey

Serving the RSB since January 2020, Ms. Debbie Bailey represents the Dale District of Chesterfield.

Her accolades include being named the 2015 Chesterfield County Middle School Teacher of the Year and being awarded the prestigious R.E.B. Award for teaching excellence in 2014.



GOOCHLAND COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD: Mr. John Wright, Chair

Mr. John Wright has represented the students of Goochland County Public Schools on the RSB since January 2016. In 2020, he was elected **vice-chair** of the RSB, and **chair** in 2021.

Additionally, John serves on the board's policy committee. Last year he also served on the committee working on the development of the school's strategic plan.

John also currently serves on the RSB Executive Committee and has since its inception.



HANOVER COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD: Mr. John Axselle

Mr. John Axselle is one of the longest-serving active board members on the RSB, in-service to the community since August 2004.

During his time on the RSB, John has witnessed the accomplishments of many graduating classes while assisting with school oversight. John served as chair of the RSB in 2006, 2007, 2016, and 2017.



HENRICO COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD: Ms. Michelle F. 'Micky' Ogburn

Ms. Micky Ogburn has served on the Maggie L. Walker Governor's School Regional Board since 2015 representing Henrico County Public Schools. She was elected twice as **vice-chair** of the RSB in 2018 and 2019. In 2020 Micky was elected board chair.

Additionally, Micky serves on the RSB Executive Board and has since its inception.



HOPEWELL COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD: Ms. Linda Hyslop

Ms. Linda Hyslop has served on the RSB since 2019 representing Hopewell Public Schools, in her latest tenure. She is the only current board member who has served two terms that were not in succession. Linda earlier served in 2015 and 2016.



KING AND QUEEN PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD: Ms. Harwood Hall, Vice-Chair

Ms. Harwood Hall has represented the students of King and Queen Public Schools on the RSB since 2017. During her tenure on the RSB, she has also served on the RSB Executive Committee since its inception. Harwood was elected vice-chair of the RSB in 2021.



NEW KENT PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD: Ms. Sarah Barber

Ms. Sarah Barber has served on the RSB since 2012 representing New Kent Public Schools. She has been elected twice as vice-chair of the RSB in both 2016 and 2017, and chair in 2018 and 2019. Additionally, Sarah has served on the RSB Executive Board since its inception plus service on the committee that developed the school's strategic plan.



PETERSBURG PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD: Mr. Kenneth Pritchett

Mr. Kenneth Pritchett is one of the longer-serving board members on the RSB, in-service to this community since 2007. During his tenure, he served on the committee that developed the school's strategic plan. He also has served on the RSB Executive Committee since its inception.

Ken presided as the RSB chair in 2012 and 2013 and has been very active in all initiatives developed by the board.



<u>POWHATAN PUBLIC SCHOOLS</u> <u>BOARD</u>: Ms. Valarie Ayers

Ms. Valarie Ayers is the longest sitting member of the Regional School Board, serving this community and its students since 1996. Her commitment of time serving on the board's policy committee since its inception is many hundreds of hours. Also during her tenure on the RSB, Valarie was instrumental in the hiring of seven MLWGS directors.



PRINCE GEORGE PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD: Ms. Jill Andrews

Ms. Jill Andrews was elected to serve the Regional School Board in January 2020 representing Prince George County Public Schools.



<u>RICHMOND CITY PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD</u>: Ms. Mariah White

Ms. Mariah White is the newest member of the Regional School Board, selected to represent the students of RPS in January 2021.