Maggie L. Walker Governor's School for Government and International Studies School Advisory Council

Minutes from SAC meeting on January 11, 2022

The virtual meeting was called to order at 7:33 a.m. by Chair, Michael Larkin

Members Present: Michael Larkin, Karen Townsend, , Rachel Loving, Rachel Gable, Virginia Warren, Madison Kang, Karen Smith-Will, Sean Fang, Kyleen Terana, Julie Solomon, and Audrey Paulson.

Approval of Agenda and Minutes

- The agenda for today's meeting was approved.
- Minutes from the December meeting were approved.

Committee Activity Reports

<u>Nominations and By-Laws</u> – Karen T. stated that this committee does not need to begin work until Spring. She requested that another parent join the committee before then to help with interviews and to provide continuity of the committee's operations in the next school year. Karen Townsend and Ed Coleman are co-chairs for a second year, Rachel Gable is a returning member.

<u>Policy and Curriculum</u> – This committee will meet for the first time today. Membership consists of Jull Blondin and Madison Kang (co-chairs), Sean Fang, Rachel Loving, Audrey Paulson, and Julie Solomon.

<u>Cultural and Student Engagement</u> – Sean reported that the committee has met several times and begun work on Black History month events for February. A cultural fair is also under consideration for later in the spring. Membership consists of Sean Fang (chair), Rachel Loving, Lynn Pleveich, and Rachel Gable.

<u>MLWGS Strategic Marketing Plan</u> – This committee will pickup last school year's efforts by meeting today. Membership consists of Virginia Warren and Madison Kang (co-chairs), Joy Cobb, Audrey Paulson, Julie Solomon, Lisa Williams, and Michael Larkin.

<u>Prospective Students Early Engagement</u> – Membership consists of Kyleen Terrana and Virginia Warren (co-chairs), Joy Cobb, Jill Blondin, Sean Fang, Madison Kang, Julie Solomon, and Karen Smith-Will.

<u>SAC Marketing and Communications Plan</u> – Membership consists of the executive committee, with Michael Larkin (chair), Karen Townsend, Ed Coleman, and Rachel Gable.

Announcements and Closure

Committees continued to meet individual in breakout rooms following closure of the main meeting at 7:47 a.m.