MLWGS Class of 2028 Orientation News

Congratulations MLWGS We the People – 2023 State Champions

Posted on

We the People competitions in Virginia are for middle and high school We the People teams. Participation in a qualifying, regional competition is required to compete at the state level. The top 9 scoring middle schools, and top 9 scoring high schools, in the regional finals, are invited to compete in the state competition. The winning high school will compete on the biggest stage for the We the People National Finals in the spring.

After taking the State Championship this past Saturday, January 28th, MLWGS will represent Virginia at the 36th Annual We the People National Finals at the National Conference Center, April 22-24, 2023 sponsored by the Center for Civic Education.  We are thrilled to announce that the We the People National Finals will return to its in-person format in 2023! 

This is the school’s 24th State Championship WTP title and will represent its upcoming 25th appearance at Nationals. MLWGS has won the national title four times in the We the People competition’s 36-year history, the last time was in 2021, and a national top-10-team for most of the other years.

During the National Finals, students will participate in simulated congressional hearings. Students testify as constitutional experts before panels of judges acting as congressional committees scoring the groups through a performance-based assessment. 

Congratulations and well done, Dragons!

Team Sponsor and Teacher: Mr. Sam Ulmschneider

 Team Members:

Anshul Chiranth (Henrico)

Alexia Creeden (Henrico)

Ella Forlin (Henrico)

Summer Fraughnaugh (Charles City)

Kaspars Golos (Richmond)

Ellie Griffin (Chesterfield)

Ethan Helms (Henrico)

Sophia Isaacs (Richmond)

Amelia Johnson (Henrico)

John Knorr (Chesterfield)

Jordyn Krajewski (Chesterfield)

Ryan Marks (Chesterfield)

Abigail Montgomery (Chesterfield)

Mattias Parandeh (Chesterfield)

Audrey Paulson (Richmond)

Mallory Phillips (Chesterfield)

Nived Sanjay (Chesterfield)

Greta Shope (Henrico)

Abigayle Simmons (New Kent)

Annabel Tang (Henrico)

Cameron Unice (Richmond)

Daniela Wheeler (Richmond)

Edward Williams (Goochland)

Bruce Yanovitch (Chesterfield)