If you are interested in joining the MLWGS Class of 2028 - our admission and information video is available now. Click the 'View our new video' button on the home page.

Regional School Board

The Regional School Board of the Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School for Government and International Studies is composed of one school board member from each participating school district. Its primary purpose is to set policy that guides the Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School and represent and interpret the objectives, goals, programs, and needs of the Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School.

Regional School Board       MEET YOUR BOARD MEMBER

Mr. John D. Wright*Goochland County Schools
Ms. Harwood Hall*, King and Queen Schools, Vice-Chair 
Mr. Bob May, Hanover County Schools 
Ms. Valarie Ayers, Powhatan County Schools
Ms. Sarah Grier Barber*, New Kent County Schools 
Ms. Martha Harris, Charles City County Schools
Ms. Mariah White, City of Richmond Schools
Ms. Linda HyslopHopewell Public Schools
Ms. Michelle Ogburn*, Henrico County Schools 
Mr. Kenneth Pritchett*City of Petersburg Schools, Chair
Ms. Debbie Bailey, Chesterfield County Schools
Mr. Cecil Smith, Prince George County Schools
Mr. Steven Neece, Colonial Heights Public Schools
Ms. Mary M. Benjamin, Dinwiddie County Public Schools

* Executive Board Member

Superintendents Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is composed of the Division Superintendent of each participating
school district or the superintendent’s duly appointed designee.

Mr. Jason Kamras, Superintendent of City of Richmond Schools
Dr. Lisa Pennycuff, Superintendent of Prince George County Schools
Dr. Dalphine Joppy, Superintendent of Charles City County Schools
Dr. Melody Hackney, Superintendent of Hopewell Public Schools 
Dr. Beth Teigen, Superintendent of Powhatan County Schools 
Dr. Carol B. Carter, Superintendent of King and Queen Schools 
Dr. Amy Cashwell, Superintendent of Henrico County Schools 
Dr. Michael T. Cromartie, Superintendent of Goochland County Schools
Dr. Tamara Sterling, Superintendent of City of Petersburg Schools
Dr. Mervin B. Daugherty, Superintendent of Chesterfield County Schools
Dr. Brian Nichols, Superintendent of New Kent County Schools, Chair
Dr. Michael B. Gill, Superintendent of Hanover County Schools
Ms. Haidee Napier, Superintendent , Colonial Heights Public Schools 
Dr. Kari E. Weston, Dinwiddie County Public Schools