MLWGS will be on a 2-hour delayed opening on Wednesday, January 17, 2024. Stayed tuned for updates.
students wearing green during Spirit Week at MLWGS

Planning Committee

The Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School Planning Committee is comprised of a representative from each one of the localities participating in The Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School program. Its function is to assist the Director in implementing and directing the mission of the school. The Committee is also responsible for the development of admission and selection criteria.

If you have any questions about Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School, please do not hesitate to contact the Planning Committee member and/or gifted program administrator from the district in which you reside.


Charles City County Schools Dr. Todd Perelli 804-652-4651
Chesterfield County Schools Dr. George Fohl 804-639-8620
Colonial Heights Public Schools  Dr. Joe Douglas 804-524-3435
Dinwiddie Public Schools Michelle Powell 804-469-4190 
Goochland County Schools

Private School or Home School Students should contact Goochland Middle School 

Dr. Beth Fowler 804-556-5610

804-556-5320 Opt 1

Hanover County Schools Andrea Herndon 804-365-4554
Henrico County Schools Jennifer Conlee 804-226-5126
City of Hopewell Schools Jan Butterworth 804-541-6400
King & Queen Public Schools Jessica Harris 804-785-5981
New Kent County Schools Ross Miller 804-966-9697
City of Petersburg Schools Regina Farr 804-664-5266
Powhatan County Schools Patricia Haskins 804-362-2500 
Prince George County Schools Melanie Barron Ficke 804-733-2700
City of Richmond Schools Lynn Pleveich 804-664-7656