MLWGS Class of 2028 Orientation News

VHSL athletic winners announced for the 2021-22 National Guard Cup presented by the Virginia Army National Guard

Posted on

VHSL logo

Auburn, Glenvar, Maggie Walker, Western Albemarle, Deep Run, and Battlefield claim National Guard Cup titles

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA — Some familiar faces and two first-timers lead the way in the 2021-22 National Guard Cup presented by the Virginia Army National Guard for year-long athletic success. The schools claiming Cups for the first time include Glenvar in Class 2 and Battlefield in Class 3. In Class 1, Auburn won for the fourth straight time and the fifth time in six years (no Cups in 2019-20 due to COVID-19) … in Class 3, Maggie Walked claimed its seventh Cup overall, after winning six in a row in Class 2 from 2014-19 … in Class 4, Western Albemarle won its fourth straight Cup and seventh overall, after winning the past three in Class 3 … in Class 5, Deep Run won its fourth Cup since 2017.

        First awarded in 1990, the Cup represents 33 seasons of excellence, with six Cups awarded for academic activities and athletics in each of the VHSL’s six enrollment classifications. 

       A point system determines the winners based on overall performance in VHSL state championship competitions. Points are awarded on the following basis: first place, 50; second place, 45; third place, 40; fourth place, 35; fifth place, 30; sixth place, 25; seventh place, 20; and eighth place, 15. 

       In a tie, the schools receive an equal number of points based on the number of schools that tie and the number of schools that finish higher in the standings. For example, semifinal losers split third and fourth place points (37.5 points each). 

       Schools earning the League’s Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity Award earn 50 points each.

       The VHSL is proud to partner with the Virginia Army National Guard. The Virginia Army National Guard has been serving the Virginia communities since 1607. The Virginia Army National Guard is now the title sponsor for the VHSL’s National Guard Cup to honor the Champions of Champions! To learn more about the Virginia Army National Guard, visit


2021-22 National Guard Cup Standings

Class 1 Auburn – Total (577.5 pts.) Fall – 115 pts.; Winter – 102.5 pts.; Spring – 360 pts.

Class 2 Glenvar – Total (422.5 pts.) Fall – 72.5 pts.; Winter – 115 pts.; Spring – 235 pts.

Class 3 Maggie Walker – Total (517.5 pts.) Fall – 162.5 pts.; Winter – 145 pts.; Spring – 210 pts.

Class 4 Western Albemarle – Total (567.5 pts.) Fall – 97.5 pts.; Winter – 187.5 pts.; Spring – 282.5 pts.

Class 5 Deep Run – Total (640 pts.) Fall – 215 pts.; Winter – 132.5 pts.; Spring – 292.5 pts.

Class 6 Battlefield – Total (505 pts.) Fall – 107.5 pts.; Winter – 180 pts.; Spring – 217.5 pts.

National Guard Cup winners for achievement in athletics from 1990-2022:


Year                        Group A                                             Group AA                                  Group AAA

1990                        Sussex Central                                    Blacksburg                                  Frank W. Cox

1991                        Sussex Central                                    Blacksburg/Tabb                         Woodbridge

1992                        Sussex Central                                    Tabb                                            Langley

1993                        Strasburg                                            Blacksburg                                  Frank W. Cox

1994                        Glenvar                                               Tabb                                            Woodbridge

1995                        Buffalo Gap                                        Nansemond River                       Centreville

1996                        George Mason                                    William Byrd                               Frank W. Cox

1997                        Central-Woodstock                             William Byrd                               Frank W. Cox

1998                        Central-Woodstock                             William Byrd                               Lake Braddock

1999                        Strasburg                                            John Handley                              Frank W. Cox

2000                        New Kent                                            John Handley                              Frank W. Cox

2001                        Brentsville District                               Jamestown                                 Lake Braddock

2002                        Brentsville District                               Jefferson Forest                          Centreville

2003                        Brentsville District                               Blacksburg                                  Lake Braddock

2004                        Radford                                               Western Albemarle                    Frank W. Cox

2005                        Clarke County                                      Western Albemarle                    Lake Braddock

2006                        Clarke County                                      Hidden Valley                             Frank W. Cox

2007                        Clarke County                                      Blacksburg                                  Frank W. Cox

2008                        Radford                                               Western Albemarle                    Frank W. Cox

2009                        George Mason                                    Blacksburg                                  Frank W. Cox

2010                        George Mason/Radford                     Blacksburg                                  Frank W. Cox

2011                        Radford                                               Hidden Valley                             Western Branch

2012                        George Mason                                    Blacksburg                                  Cosby

2013                        George Mason                                    Blacksburg                                  Oakton

Year         Class 1                 Class 2                     Class 3                     Class 4                       Class 5                 Class 6

2014        Radford         Maggie Walker       Blacksburg                  Midlothian                  Hickory            James Robinson

2015        Radford         Maggie Walker       Lafayette                     Midlothian                  Hickory            Oakton

2016        Auburn          Maggie Walker       Blacksburg                  Hanover/Lafayette     Hickory            James Robinson

2017        Radford         Maggie Walker       Blacksburg                  Jamestown                 Deep Run        Oakton

2018        Auburn          Maggie Walker       Western Albemarle    Blacksburg                  Deep Run        Cosby

2019        Auburn          Maggie Walker       Western Albemarle    Blacksburg                  Deep Run        Cosby

2020        None due to COVID-19

2021        Auburn          Poquoson                Western Albemarle    Blacksburg                  Albemarle       Cosby

2022        Auburn          Glenvar                   Maggie Walker           Western Albemarle    Deep Run        Battlefield