MLWGS Class of 2028 Orientation News

Congratulations to MLWGS’s three Presidential Scholar Candidates from the Class of 2024

Posted on

Congratulations to the following students for their consistent academic accomplishments:

  •  Rohini Mudinur – Henrico

“Rohini has big ideas and works hard to make them a reality. She has designed and implemented a peer mentor program at our school that promises to evolve and improve the lives of an entire class of first year students,” said teacher Ed Coleman.

  • Alex Percey – Henrico

Mr. Coleman, who has the privilege to teach two of these scholar candidates said, “Alex is a vital member of our academic community. He brings an inquisitive mind and a strong work ethic to our class.” 

  • Sruthi Vegunta – Henrico

“Sruthi hovers over a question like an osprey, examining ideas and options from afar, asking a question here or offering a comment there. And then, with an almost invisible tilt of her wings, she dives, and almost instantly she’s got the answer in her grasp,” as observed and shared by teacher Peter Cashwell.

“They are excellent students and role models for all Dragons,” said Ms. Allison Anthony.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by the executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.

More information about the program can be found at