MLWGS Drama presents Almost Maine November 7-9

Barber to chair MLWGS Regional School Board again in 2019

Posted on

Sarah Barber, School Board Chair

The Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School Regional Board (RSB) elected Mrs. Sarah Barber, representing the New Kent School Board, as chair once again for 2019 at its January 17 meeting. This election continues her leadership from 2018. Mrs. Barber has served the RSB since January 2012.

Mrs. Micky Ogburn representing the Henrico School Board was re-elected as vice-chair.

“I would like to once again thank my colleagues for allowing me the honor to serve as chair of the Regional School Board.  I look forward to the coming year working with our Director, Executive Committee and Board members.  Together we will guide Maggie Walker to be a stronger place to learn,”  Barber said.  “It is a humbling experience to serve with the outstanding and dedicated people of our regional board, superintendents, staff, faculty, students, and the greater community that is Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School.”

The Superintendent’s Steering Committee leadership for 2019 will be headed by Dr. David Myers, New Kent, and Dr. Amy Cashwell, Henrico. “It is an honor to be a part of Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School.  I look forward to our work together over the next year, as we support the students in their tremendous success at this amazing school,” Myers said.   

Joining Barber and Ogburn are school board members from participating divisions that include Ms. Martha Harris from Charles City, Dr. Javaid Siddiqi from Chesterfield, Mr. John Wright from Goochland, Mr. John Axselle from Hanover, Mr. Christopher Reber from Hopewell, Mrs. Harwood Hall from King and Queen, Mr. Kenneth Pritchett from Petersburg, Mrs. Valarie Ayers from Powhatan, Mr. Rob Eley from Prince George, and Mr. Scott Barlow from Richmond.

The RSB also elected their Executive Board members for 2019 as follows; Barber, Ogburn, John Wright, Kenneth Pritchett, and Harwood Hall. 

The RSB also set its meeting schedule for the year. Meetings will generally be held on the third Thursday of each month on school grounds, Room 153, 9:00 am, with the exception of July, November, and December. The approved calendar can be viewed here.