MLWGS will close early on Friday, April 20 @ 1 pm due to weather conditions. All after-school activities are cancelled.

Boys & Girls Indoor Track teams win State 2A Championship

Posted on

Indoor Track State Champions Indoor Track State Champions

Congratulations to both teams, boys and girls!

Another State indoor track meet is in the books and the boys and girls teams came home with championship trophies. The girls achieved their sixth consecutive State team win, while the boys’ recaptured the title this year. The boys have won State 4 years out of the last 6.  This is an outstanding achievement by our seniors on both teams. 

Individual Event Champions

Mary Caroline Heinen (’20-Richmond) 1600 and 3200-meter races

Mary Kemp (’21-Richmond) 1000-meter race

Kaitlyn Baker (’22-Hanover) Pole vault

Adam Sachs (’19-Henrico) 1600-meter race

Carter Morgan (’20-Henrico) 1000-meter race

Relay Champions

Girls 4×4: Alyssa Wright (’20-Goochland), Kathleen Russo (’21-Chesterfield, Megan Bale (’19-Chesterfield) and Mary Kemp

Girls 4×8: Kathleen Russo, Mary Kemp, Josie Greer (’20-Richmond) and Mary Caroline Heinen

Boys 4×4: Ben Blanchard (’22-Henrico), Carter Morgan, Michael Schweiker (’19-Richmond) and Nathaniel Gregory (’19-Hanover)

Boys 4×8: Ben Blanchard, Carter Morgan, Michael Schweiker, and Nathaniel Gregory

The teams are coached by Jim Holdren-VHSL Hall of Fame, Deborah Snagg, Ryan Webb, Bill Powers, and Bob Disse.

Happy Dragons on their return home trip (thanks Coach Snagg!)

Students on the bus