MLWGS Drama presents Almost Maine November 7-9

Congratulations to the (12) National Merit Scholarship Semi-Finalists from MLWGS for 2020

Posted on

National Merit Scholarship

Of the 1.6 million entrants, some 50,000 with the highest PSAT/NMSQT® Selection Index scores (calculated by doubling the sum of the Reading, Writing and Language, and Math Test scores) qualify for recognition in the National Merit®Scholarship Program. In early September, about 16,000 students, or approximately one-third of the 50,000 high scorers, were notified that they have qualified as Semifinalists. 


In February, some 15,000 Semifinalists will be notified by mail that they have advanced to Finalist standing. 

Winner Selection

All winners of Merit Scholarship® awards (Merit Scholar® designees) are chosen from the Finalist group based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments—without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference. A variety of information is available for NMSC selectors to evaluate: the Finalist’s academic record, information about the school’s curricula and grading system, two sets of test scores, the high school official’s written recommendation, information about the student’s activities and leadership, and the Finalist’s own essay.

This year MLWGS has twelve National Merit Scholarship Semi-Finalists from the Class of 2020, three (3) from Henrico, five (5) from Chesterfield, three (3) from Richmond, and one (1) from Goochland.

  • Alexander Broening (Richmond)
  • Maximilian Broening (Richmond)
  • Connor Goodwin (Chesterfield)
  • Mary Heinen (Richmond)
  • Marina Kapitanov (Chesterfield)
  • Jackson Lamb (Chesterfield)
  • Kevin Ren (Chesterfield)
  • Gracie Schutrumpf (Goochland)
  • Siddharth Venigalla (Chesterfield)
  • Lida Wolman (Henrico)
  • Nicholas Xie (Henrico)
  • Jacqueline Yu (Henrico)

Congratulations to all of the MLWGS semi-finalists! Good luck in the finalist round.