MLWGS will be on a 2-hour delay opening, Wednesday, Feb. 20. Conditions by 6:00 am may require complete closer...stay tuned.

Director’s Blog


Robert C. Lowerre, Ph.D., Director

Sunday Evening Updates Here



Maggie Walker FRC team to host Legislative Open House March 27

Posted on

On Wednesday, March 27 from 6 pm – 8 pm, the Maggie Walker robotics team will be hosting local and state politicians for a rolling open house, to spread STEM awareness and engender political change. MLWGS School Board Member Javaid Siddiqi, House Member Dawn Adams, Virginia Senator Siobhan Dunnavant, Outreach representatives for US Congressman Donald […]

MLWGS conducts tornado drill

Posted on

On Tuesday, March 26 at 9:00 am, a ‘tornado’ call went out at MLWGS and the dragons responded quickly to this drill.  Students were brought out of their classroom into hallways and away from windows, and asked to sit facing a wall with their hands over their heads. The exercise is performed annually as required […]

Italian II and III classes to attend University of Richmond Conference, Migration: Contested Spaces of the Mediterranean

Posted on

Ms. Susan Hefty has been invited by the University of Richmond Department of Languages to bring students in her Italian studies program to their prestigious conference. The year 2019 marks the 30th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, the historical event that dramatically changed the political, social and cultural face of Europe. Thousands […]

Senior Class Meeting:  Wednesday, March 27, 11:40 a.m., Auditorium

Posted on

A mandatory class meeting will be held to discuss all aspects of the “Graduation Season.”   For example, class officers will provide details about the “Senior Quotes” for the Senior Recognition program. 

MW Sophomore takes Grand Prize at Metro Richmond STEM Fair, earns entry into ISEF

Posted on

Congratulations to Maggie Walker’s Perisa Ashar (’21-Henrico) who was a Grand Prize winner at the Metro Richmond STEM Fair last weekend. This event is Central Virginia’s regional qualifying event into the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF).  Perisa won 1st place in Senior Biochemistry for her project entitled ‘In-Vitro Patch-Clamp Study of the ih Current in Nice […]

Two Dragons Receive National Medals from Scholastics, one is going to Carnegie Hall

Posted on

Congratulations to Clair Dickinson (’22-Henrico) who received a GOLD KEY for her Flash Fiction piece entitled “Aviation,” and Alys Goodwin (’20-Chesterfield) who received a SILVER KEY for her Flash Fiction piece entitled “Guardless”.   Clair has been invited to: the National Ceremony at Carnegie Hall; Maker Prom, a night of dancing and fun where students can celebrate […]

Intermediate and Advanced Jazz Bands performed for the Youth Art and Music Month Gala

Posted on

On Thursday, March 7th, the Intermediate and Advanced Jazz Bands performed for the Youth Art and Music Month opening gala at MLWGS. March is a great time to encourage art and music in our communities, and a reminder about the enrichment music provides to our everyday lives. Jazz Band is taught by Mr. Nicholas Merillat. 

Dragon Chess at VA Scholastic K12 Championship wins 1st Place, U1400 Team

Posted on

Eight members of the MLWGS Dragon Chess Club participated in the Virginia Scholastic (K12) Chess Championship in Charlottesville, VA. Over 500 students from all around VA participated in the tournament held at Monticello High School on March 8 -10, 2019. The seven MLWGS students who played in the U1400 section won first place in the team standings. […]

MLWGS Regional School Board Meeting and Budget Public Hearing on March 21, 2019

Posted on

A meeting of the Maggie Walker Governor’s School Regional Board and Budget Public Hearing will be held on March 21, 2019, @ 9:00 am, in Room 153 on the MW campus.  Persons wishing to address the Regional School Board are required to contact the Board Clerk for placement on the agenda. In order to address the Regional School Board, the […]

Follow the Mech Tech Dragons this weekend at the CHS District Portsmouth Event

Posted on

Follow the Mech Tech Dragons Team 422 at their March 15-17 competition, by accessing a live stream starting at 10:30 am with opening ceremonies and qualification matches following the opening. You should be able to access a link to the stream from the page below. Thank you, Mark Sailer, sponsor…drive safe!   CHS District […]