MLWGS Class of 2028 Orientation News

MW Regional School Board elects new chair for 2021

Posted on

The Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School Regional Board (RSB) elected Mr. John Wright, representing the Goochland School Board, as chair for 2021 at its January 21 meeting. Wright has held RSB membership since 2016 while serving as its vice-chair in 2020.  Outgoing chair Micky Ogburn of Henrico Public Schools will remain as a voting member of the MLWGS RSB.

Ms. Harwood Hall, King & Queen School Board, was elected vice-chair. Hall has served on the board since 2017.

“On behalf of the Regional School Board, I’d like to thank Ms. Ogburn for her leadership and service as Chair of the RSB over the past year,” said Wright.  “I am honored to follow in her footsteps in supporting the incredible work of the RSB, as well as MLWGS staff and students. Though this year presents obvious challenges, I am confident that the RSB’s shared vision of providing the best possible education for Central Virginia’s diverse population will be achieved through the collective efforts of the Board, Superintendents, and School Administration. Go Dragons! ”

The Superintendent’s Steering Committee for 2021 will be chaired by Dr. Jeremy Raley of Goochland.

The RSB also welcomed its newest member in absentia; Ms. Mariah White, Richmond Public Schools Board.

In addition to the chair, vice-chair, and the new member from Richmond, the board will be comprised of the following returning members and their participating divisions: Mr. Royce Paige from Charles City, Ms. Debbie Bailey from Chesterfield, Mr. John Axselle from Hanover, Ms. Micky Ogburn from Henrico, Ms. Linda Hyslop from Hopewell, Ms. Sarah Barber from New Kent, Mr. Kenneth Pritchett from Petersburg, Ms. Valarie Ayers from Powhatan, and Ms. Jill Andrews from Prince George.

Other items for discussion or action at the board’s January meeting included the code of conduct for the board and clerks, the board meeting calendar, board committee memberships, policy change proposals, and an update on the school’s strategic plan implementation.

Executive Board members for 2021 remain unchanged and consist of Ogburn, Wright, Pritchett, Hall, and Barber.  

The RSB also set its meeting schedule for the year. Meetings will generally be held on the third Thursday of each month at 9:00 am, with the exception of July, November, and December. Their approved meeting dates can be viewed here.