Class of 2024 - check 'MLWGS News' for upcoming registration information

MW with 3 Presidential Scholar Candidates from the Class of 2020

Posted on

Nicolas Xie, Alyssa Smith, and Daniel Xue

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.

Congratulations to the following Dragons:

Alyssa M. Smith, Powhatan

Nicholas M. Xie, Henrico

Daniel L. Xue, Chesterfield

The Presidential Scholars Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.