MLWGS Drama presents Almost Maine November 7-9

VHSL Wells Fargo Cup for Academic Winners Announced

Posted on

VHSL logo

2019 is the first year Maggie Walker won the ‘Academic Crown’ with the debate team competing for VSHL instead of non-VHSL leagues. Good decision Mr. Dan Brown!

George Wythe-Wytheville, Maggie Walker, Turner Ashby, Blacksburg, Massaponax, and James Robinson claim 2018-19 Wells Fargo Cup Academic crowns

 CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA — Four first-time winners lead the way for the 2018-19 Wells Fargo Cup race for yearlong academic activities success. Claiming Cups for the first time included George Wythe-Wytheville in Class 1, Maggie Walker in Class 2, Massaponax in Class 5, and James Robinson in Class 6.

        The highlights: Class 1 George Wythe totaled 125 points followed by Eastside with 100; Class 2 Maggie Walker scored 120 points with Marion Senior and Radford tied for second with 95 points; Class 3 Turner Ashby claimed its second straight Cup scoring 180 points followed by Brookville and Rockbridge County in a tie for second with 110 points; Class 4 Blacksburg ran away with the competition with 240 points followed by Woodgrove in second with 160 points;  Class 5 Massaponax edged defending champion Thomas Jefferson S&T, 212.5 to 210; Class 6 James Robinson tallied 260 points with defending champion and 13-time Cup winner Chantilly finished second with 235 points.

        First awarded in 1990, the Wells Fargo Cup represents 29 academic seasons of excellence.  Six cups are presented, one for academic activities and one for athletics in each of VHSL’s six enrollment classifications.  The winners for athletics are announced following the completion of spring championships.

        Wells Fargo Cup winners are determined by a point system based on performance in VHSL state competitions.  Schools can earn academic activity points for outstanding participation in magazine, newsmagazine, newspaper, online news, yearbook, broadcasting, theatre, scholastic bowl, forensics, debate, creative writing, and film festival. (MW submitted yearbook, debate, film production, and scholastic bowl).

        For the five activities involving team champions — scholastic bowl, creative writing, debate, theatre, and forensics — points are awarded on the following basis: first place, 50; second place, 45; third place, 40; fourth place, 35; fifth place, 30; sixth place, 25; seventh place, 20; and eighth place, 15. 

        Scoring for publications is based on the ranking earned in the League’s evaluation service: Trophy Class, 35; First Place, 20; Second Place, 5.

               Wells Fargo Cup winners for achievement in academic activities from 1990-2019:

Year                        Group A                                             Group AA                                  Group AAA

1990                       Prince Edward                                  Abingdon                                   Monacan

1991                       Prince Edward                                  Abingdon                                   Monacan

1992                       Prince Edward                                  Abingdon                                   James Madison


1993                       Saint Paul                                          Abingdon                                   James Madison

1994                       Madison County                               Abingdon                                   James Madison

1995                       Madison County                               Abingdon                                   Chantilly

                                                                                                                                                James Madison

1996                       Galax                                                  Abingdon                                   Chantilly

1997                       Madison County                               Abingdon                                   James Madison

1998                       Madison County                               Abingdon                                   Chantilly

1999                       Madison County                               Blacksburg                                 Chantilly

2000                       Madison County                               Abingdon                                   McLean

                                                                                                                                                George Washington

2001                       Madison County                               Abingdon                                   George Washington

2002                       Madison County                               Abingdon                                   Chantilly

2003                       Madison County                               Charlottesville                          George Washington

2004                       Madison County                               Abingdon                                   Chantilly

2005                       Madison County                               Abingdon                                   Chantilly

2006                       Madison County                               Charlottesville                          Chantilly

2007                       Madison County                               Abingdon                                   Westfield

2008                       Madison County                               Charlottesville                          Chantilly

2009                       Madison County                               Charlottesville                          Chantilly

2010                       Madison County                               Salem-Salem                             Westfield

2011                       Madison County                               Harrisonburg                            Westfield

2012                       Madison County                               Harrisonburg                            Westfield

2013                       Madison County                               Harrisonburg                            Thomas Jefferson S&T

Year           1A                     2A                         3A                       4A                              5A                                    6A

2014       Radford       Madison County    Lafayette           Harrisonburg        Thomas Jefferson S&T    Chantilly

2015       Bland Co.    Central-Wise          Blacksburg         Harrisonburg        Princess Anne                  Stafford

2016       Radford      Central-Wise          Cave Spring       Woodgrove            Princess Anne                  Clover Hill

2017       Radford      Central-Wise          Blacksburg         Harrisonburg        T. Jefferson S&T              Chantilly

2018       Galileo        Radford                  Turner Ashby     Jefferson Forest   T. Jefferson S&T              Chantilly

2019       G.Wythe     Maggie Walker       Turner Ashby      Blacksburg            Massaponax                   J. Robinson