Class of 2024 - check 'MLWGS News' for upcoming registration information

The Regional School Board is recognized for their service in February

Posted on

L-R Back Row: Pritchett, Axselle, Wright, Andrews, and Ogburn
L-R Front Row: Barber, Hall, Hyslop, and Bailey

Maggie L Walker Governor’s School will join 132 other school divisions throughout the state to celebrate School Board Appreciation Month in February. Almost 850 elected and appointed school board members throughout Virginia will be recognized by schools and communities for their service and dedication to public education.

The theme of this year’s celebration, ‘Excellence Through Equity,’ reflects the top priority of local school board members as they advocate for public education with local, state, and federal leaders on behalf of all students.

“The foundation of school leadership is ensuring equal learning opportunities for all students,” said Dr. Bob Lowerre, MLWGS Director. “We’re proud of our school, and School Board Appreciation Month is the time to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of our elected trustees.”

In Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School, regional school board members must develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues impacting the entire community. They bear responsibility for an annual budget of $8,772,479 million, 754 students, more than 120 employees, and the MLWGS building and grounds.

“School board members statewide make decisions that affect 1.3 million Virginia children and more than $3 billion,” notes Dr. Lowerre, “They preserve the core of our democracy—public education.”

The men and women serving on the Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School Regional Board board are: 

  • Mr. Royce Paige, Charles City County School
  • Ms. Debbie Bailey, Chesterfield County School
  • Mr. John D. Wright, (Vice-Chair) Goochland County School 
  • Mr. John Axselle, III, Hanover County School
  • Ms. Michelle Ogburn, (Chair) Henrico County School
  • Ms. Linda Hyslop, Hopewell Public School
  • Ms. Harwood Hall, King and Queen School 
  • Ms. Sarah Grier Barber, New Kent County School 
  • Mr. Kenneth Pritchett, City of Petersburg School
  • Ms. Valarie Ayers, Powhatan County School
  • Ms. Jill Andrews, Prince George County School
  • Mr. J. Scott Barlow, City of Richmond School

Please take a moment and thank your local school board member. Their efforts behind the scenes make MLWGS outstanding.

Provided by the students of MLWGS

Contact your RSB member here.